ICG Today

How To Join ICG

Individuals cannot normally become members of the ICG but are instead represented by their local national societies. There are currently member organisations in 31 countries throughout the world, a further 5 associated organisations and 10 associated member companies. Each member organisation can appoint 2 people onto the ICG Council, which meets annually during ICG meetings. A photograph of the Members of Council present at the ICG Conference in Bangkok, Thailand (2015) appears below. Nevertheless suitably qualified individuals are encouraged to assist with the work of the Technical Committees; the route to becoming a committee member is explained below.

A recent change to the constitution has also been made to encourage organisations such as multinational companies, other scientific and technical organisations with an interest in glass, and, where appropriate, large national companies to participate in ICG. Four such organisations have joined recently. If you are interested in becoming involved, please contact our President or Honorary Secretary in the first place.

Current Members of ICG

 Argentina  Instituto Nacional de Technologia Minera (INTEMIN)
 Bulgaria  Bulgarian Commission on Glass
 Belgium  Institut du Verre, Federation des Chambres Syndicales de l’Industrie du Verre
 Brazil  Associacao Technica Brasileira das Industrias Automaticas de Vidro (ABIVIDRO)
 Canada  Université LAVAL, Centre d´optique, photonique et laser
 China  Chinese Ceramic Society (CCS)
 Czech Republic  Czech Glass Society (CGS)
 Denmark  Danish Ceramic Society
 Finland  Glaston Finland Oy
 France  Institut du Verre (IV)
 Germany  Deutsche Glastechnische Gesellschaft (DGG)
 Hungary  Szilikatipari Tudomanyos Egyesulet
 India  Central Glass and Ceramic Research Institute
 Iran  Iran Glass Association
 Italy  Stazione Sperimentale del Vetro (SSV)
 Japan  Ceramic Society of Japan (CSJ)
 Korea  Korean Ceramic Society
 Liechtenstein  Ivoclar AG
 Mexico  Vitro Vidrio y Cristal, S.A.
 Netherlands  Nationaal Comite van de Nederlandse Glasindustrie (NCNG)
 Poland  Institute of Glass and Ceramics
 Portugal  ICEMS
 Romania  University Polytechnic of Bucharest
 Russia  National Commission on Glass, NCG, of the Russian Academy of Sciences
 Slovakia  Slovak Glass Society (SGS)
 Spain  Sociedad Espanola de Ceramica y Vidrio (SECV)
 Sweden  GLAFO – the Glass Research Institute
 Thailand  Bureau of Community Technology, Ministry of Science and Technology
 Turkey  Turkiye Sise ve Cam Fabrikalari A.S.
 United Kingdom  Society of Glass Technology (SGT)
 USA  American Ceramic Society (ACS)

Associated Organisations

BV GLAS, Bundesverband Glasindustrie e.V., Germany
Glass Manufacturing Industry Council of USA
StekloSouz of Russia
The All India Glass Manufacturers Confederation (AIGMF)

Associated Member Companies

Avensis, Germany
Avic Sanxin Co Ltd. China
Borosil Glass Works Limited, Mumbai, India
Bottero S.p.A, Italy
China Glass Holding, China
China Triumph International Engineering Company Ltd
China Yaohua Glass Group Co. Ltd., China
Hangzhou Daming Technology Holding Co. Ltd, China
Henan Ancai Hi-tech Co Ltd, China (ACHT)
Henan Zhongyuan Special Refractories Co. Ltd. China
Ruatai Materials Technology Co. Ltd, China
Saratov Glass Institute Co., Stk., Russia
Shahe Anquan Industry Co., Ltd, China
Zhengzhou Huitte Refractories Co.,Ltd China

Council 2016 in Shanghai

Joining a Technical Committee

Scientists or engineers working in the area of glass and showing an interest in international collaboration should:

  • Identify the specific Technical Committee which comes closest to their particular professional interest and competence.
  • Contact the Chairman of the respective Technical Committee to learn about the ongoing projects.
  • Inform their National Society or Organisation (which should be a Member of ICG) of their interest in joining a Technical Committee.

The National Societies or Organisations have to approve the nomination as a member of a particular Technical Committee by proposing their candidate to the Chairman of the Coordinating Technical Committee.

This procedure is a safeguard to prevent self nominations and to ensure the competent representation of the respective country.